Radmarathon in Österreich, Deutschland, Schweiz, Italien, Mitteleuropa

deutsch english italiano

Salzkammergut MTB Trophy

radmarathon.at auf Facebook Folge radmarathon.at auf Twitter radmarathon.at auf YouTube RSS Feed abonnieren Mobile Version

Alban Lakata triumphiert beim Adamello Bike Marathon

Der Osttiroler setzt sich in Ponte di Legno vor Andreas Kugler (SUI) und Jhon Botero Salazar (COL) durch. Vizeeuropameisterin Sally Bigham siegt vor Michela Benzoni und Jane Nuessli.

2. Andreas Kugler, 1. Alban Lakata, 3. Jhon Botero Salazar (Foto: Newspower Canon)

2. Andreas Kugler, 1. Alban Lakata, 3. Jhon Botero Salazar (Foto: Newspower Canon)



Former Marathon World Champion Alban Lakata and vice European Champion Sally Bigham conquered the third step of the UCI 2011-2012 MTB Marathon Series, yesterday in Ponte di Legno (Italy).

Both the Austrian and the British riders (both Topeak-Ergon Racing team) got rid of first class athletes such as Andreas Kugler of Switzerland, Jhon Jairo Botero Salazar of Colombia, Italy’s Michela Benzoni and Jane Nüssli of the UK.

In a rainy and foggy day, with cold temperatures and the sun that took a day-off, the mtb race in Northern Italy (named Adamello Bike Marathon, along a 65 km course and 2.250 meters height difference through Stelvio National Park) kicked off in the town centre and for the first 15 kilometres saw Italian Tony Longo and reigning European Champion Alexey Medvedev taking the leadership, closely followed by Lakata and Swiss Urs Huber and Andreas Kugler.

After about 20 kms, Longo started to suffer in the cold and rain, and let Lakata and Kugler move closer. From then on, the Austrian champion increased his speed and rhythm and eventually showed up at the finish all alone with 3 minutes 50 seconds gap on Kugler, and almost 9 minutes on Botero Salazar.

“I did enjoy this race very much”, said Lakata at the end, “it’s been the best result of the year and I want to keep the leadership of the World Series until the very end.”

On the women’s side, Bigham was number one favourite, as she had won both the first two races of the Marathon Series. The British champion showed amazing skills and strength from the very beginning. Italian Michela Benzoni managed to keep her pace for a few kilometres only and after that Bigham practically raced on her own and came in first, followed by Benzoni and Nüssli. “I didn’t start too well”, Bigham admitted, “the rain was horrible, but I eventually made it. That’s the main thing.”

Italian Enzo Gnani and Nadia Tosi won the Classic race, on a 40 km course.

Results Marathon course


1 Lakata Alban Topeak Ergon Racing Team 3h02:39
2 Kugler Andreas Multivan Merida Biking Team 3h06:30
3 Botero Salazar Jhon Jairo Trek- Stihl - Torrevilla Mtb Asd 3h11:20
4 Casagrande Michele Elettroveneta-Corratec 3h11:35
5 Zoli Yader Torpado Surfing Shop 3h11:48
6 Urs Huber Stockli Pro Team 3h11:48
7 Porro Samuele Lissone Mtb Asd 3h13:12
8 Ronchi Luca Lissone Mtb Asd 3h13:35
9 Medvedev Alexey Elettroveneta-Corratec 3h19:24
10 Dal Grande Stefano Team Full-Dynamix 3h22:29


1 Bigham Sally Topeak Ergon Racing Team 3h52:30
2 Benzoni Michela Lissone Mtb Asd 3h55:48
3 Nuessli Jane Fischer Bmc 3h56:46
4 Giacomuzzi Elena Caprivesi 4h10:29
5 Pezzatti Sofia Trek Stihl 3 Valli Biasca 4h25:42
6 Mazzucotelli Simona Pro Team Viner Jollywear 4h34:49
7 Mandelli Chiara Axevo Bike And Fun 4h57:03
8 Giovanniello Martina Trek- Stihl - Torrevilla Mtb Asd 5h00:47
9 Coppola Nives Royal Cycling Team 6h11:09

Results Classic course


1 Gnani Enzo Gnani Bike Team 2h17:14
2 Bettineschi Natale Boario A.S.D. 2h17:19
3 Cornaro Michael Valcavallina Superbike 2h17:44
4 Bona Daniele Niardo For Bike A.S.D. 2h18:29
5 Menini Stefano Asd - Alpin Bike Edilbi Team 2h18:43


1 Tosi Nadia Sellero Novelle 2000 A.S.D. 2h43:09
2 Poetini Daniela Sellero Novelle 2000 A.S.D. 2h54:35
3 De Lorenzi M Raffaella Mdl Racing Crew A.S.D. 3h20:39
4 Ferrari Giuseppina G.C. Iseo A.S.D. 4h29:49

Artikel vom 20.09.2011


Artikel versenden versenden | Artikel drucken drucken | zurück

Presse | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz
© 2018 www.radmarathon.at